ASSAf Humanities Book Award – Call for Nominations

ASSAf HUMANITIES BOOK AWARD – Scholarly, non-fiction Humanities books  

The ASSAf Humanities Standing Committee announces the call for its second Humanities Book Award. The Committee seeks your assistance in nominating and identifying writers of a scholarly, well-written work of non-fiction, published up to three years (i.e. 2015, 2016 and 2017) prior to its nomination. The book should be noteworthy in its contribution to developing new understanding and insight of a topic in the Humanities.

Please note that our definition of the Humanities includes the Social Sciences and the Performing Arts. 


All books should have an ISBN number of 2015–2017 as a publication date.

In the case of single-authored books, the author need not necessarily be South African but must be employed by, or affiliated to, an institution of higher learning and/or research institution in South Africa.

Where books are co-authored, at least one author must be employed by or affiliated to a South African institution of higher learning and/or research.

A book may be nominated in more than one year – provided the second nomination, like the first, occurs no more than three years after the book was first published.

While co-authored books are acceptable, edited collections of essays are not eligible for the award. 


A nominator should be an individual who is from the nominee’s own institution and/or someone who has specialist knowledge of the discipline or field within which the nominee works.  

A nomination should comprise:

•A motivation (which is a maximum of 500 words in length).
•The identification of three possible reviewers of the book, none of whom should be individuals who served as the outside readers in enabling the acceptance of the book for publication.
•A signed statement from the author (or authors) indicating willingness for the book to be nominated and agreement to provide three copies for reviewers should these be required.
•Copies of published reviews of the book, where available, in the form of appendices.
•Telephone numbers and e-mail addresses of the author and publisher.  


A sum of R30000, as well as a certificate of acknowledgement will be awarded.

Where there is more than one author, the available award monies will be divided between the authors.

The award will be made at an official ASSAf event.

ASSAf reserves the right not to make an award. 


There is no entry fee.

The closing date for nominations is 28 February 2018.

Winner/s will be notified in writing by the end of July 2018.

Any queries may be directed to Dr Leti Kleyn on or 012 349 6651.