Standing Committee on Biosafety and Biosecurity welcomes new members

Ten new members, who bring a diverse range of expertise, were recently welcomed to the standing committee. They are Dr Aijaz Ahmad,  University of Witwatersrand (Wits)/National Health Laboratory Services, Prof Collet Dandara, University of Cape Town (UCT), Prof Ames Dhai, Wits, Prof Adeyemi Aremu, North-West University (NWU), Prof Rose Hayeshi, NWU, Prof Alan Christoffels, University of the Western Cape(UWC)/South African National Bioinformatics Institute, Prof Virna Leaner, UCT, Prof Brenda Wingfield, University of Pretoria (UP), Prof Sharon Prince, UCT, and Prof Andre Pascal Kengne, South African Medical Research Council.

The newly constituted Standing Committee plans to meet on 22 September where the way forward for the committee will be drafted.  

As we welcome new members, in early 2020 we said goodbye to two members who stepped down: Prof Anton van Niekerk, Stellenbosch University (SU), who had been an active and valuable member and, Dr Nosiphiwe Ngqwala, Rhodes University (RU) who had represented young scientists in the committee. We wish both of them well.