Standing Committee on Health welcomes new members and a new Chairperson

The Standing Committee has welcomed eight new members who represent a diversity of expertise which will assist the Academy to tackle health challenges in a multi-disciplinary manner. The new members are Prof John Ataguba, University of Cape Town (UCT), Prof Minrie Greeff, North-West University (NWU), Dr Elizabeth Lutge, KwaZulu-Natal Department of Health, Prof Neil McKerrow, KwaZulu-Natal Department of Health/UCT, Prof Mosa Moshabela, University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN), Prof Shane Norris, University of Witwatersrand (Wits), Prof Heidi van Rooyen, Human Sciences Research Council and Dr Caradee Wright, South African Medical Research Council.  

In addition, Prof Shabir Madhi who had been acting as Interim Chair for the Committee since early 2019 stepped down from the position. Prof Mosa Moshabela is the new Chairperson and Prof Lekan Ayo-Yusuf, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, is the Deputy Chair. Prof Madhi’s contributions as Interim Chair have been invaluable.