ASSAf News

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) inaugurated 38 leading scientists as new Members at its annual Awards Ceremony on 12 October 2016, increasing the total Membership to over 500.

The Academy received the record number of 85 nominations for this year’s elections. Membership of the Academy now stands at 506. Of the new Members, 16 (42%) is black and 9 (24%) female, bringing representation in the total Membership to 29% and 25%, respectively. 

As the official Academy of South Africa, ASSAf has as core function to honour the country’s most outstanding scholars by electing them to Membership of the Academy. ASSAf Members are drawn from the full spectrum of disciplines.

New Members are elected each year by the full existing Membership. Membership of the Academy is a great honour and is in recognition of scholarly achievement. Members are the core asset of the Academy and give of their time and expertise voluntarily in the service of society.

The new ASSAf Members are:

PROF JONATHAN BLACKBURN – SARChI Chair in Applied Proteomics & Chemical Biology, University of Cape Town.

PROF KEITH BRECKENRIDGE – Professor and Deputy Director, Wits Institute for Social & Economic Research, University of the Witwatersrand.

PROF FAIZAL BUX – Professor and Director of the Institute for Water & Wastewater Technology, Durban University of Technology.

PROF MALCOM COLLINS – Professor and Head of Department, Department of Human Biology, University of Cape Town.

PROF ROBERT DE MELLO KOCH – SARChI Chair in Fundamental Physics & String Theory in the School of Physics, University of the Witwatersrand.

PROF COLLEEN DOWNS – Professor, SARChI Chair in Ecosystem Health & Biodiversity, University of KwaZulu-Natal.

PROF CHARLES FELDMAN – Professor of Pulmonology, University of the Witwatersrand and Chief Physician, Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital.

PROF CHARLES FOMBAD – Head of Department of Public Law and Professor of Law, University of Pretoria.

PROF MELLONY GRAVEN – Full Professor and SARChI Chair in Numeracy, Rhodes University.

PROF CLIVE GRAY – Professor and Head of the Division of Immunology, University of Cape Town. 

PROF STEVEN KARATAGLIDIS – Professor of Physics, University of Johannesburg. 

PROF ANDRE KENGNE – Director, Non-Communicable Diseases Research Unit, South African Medical Research Council and Associate Professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Cape Town.

PROF DAVID MASON – Emeritus Research Professor, Department of Applied Mathematics, University of the Witwatersrand. 

PROF LENORE MANDERSON – Professor of Public Health & Medical Anthropology, School of Public Health, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand.

PROF ANGELA MATHEE – Director, Environment & Health Research Unit, Medical Research Council.

PROF ACHILLE MBEMBE – Research Professor in History & Politics, University of the Witwatersrand. 

PROF CHRISTOPHER MCQUAID – Distinguished Professor of Zoology and SARChI Chair in Marine Ecosystem Research, Rhodes University. 

PROF JEFFREY MPHAHLELE – Vice-President: Research, South African Medical Research Council.

PROF ABRAHAM MUASYA – Associate Professor and Head of Department of Biological Sciences, University of Cape Town. 

PROF VOSTER MUCHENJE – Research Professor, Department of Livestock & Pasture Science, Faculty of Science & Agriculture University of Fort Hare.

PROF THUMBI NDUNG’U – Professor and SARChI Chair in Systems Biology of HIV/AIDS and the Victor Daitz Chair in HIV/TB Research. 

PROF CATHERINE NGILA – Head of Applied Chemistry Department, University of Johannesburg.

PROF OJELANKI NGWENYAMA – Research Professor of Information Systems, University of Cape Town and Professor and Director of the Institute for Innovation & Technology Management Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada.

PROF SHANE NORRIS – Research Professor and Director at MRC/Wits Developmental Pathways for Health Research Unit.

PROF FRANCIS NYAMNJOH – Professor of Social Anthropology and Head of Department, University of Cape Town.

PROF JAMES OGUDE – Professor and Senior Research Fellow and Deputy Director, Centre for the Advancement of Scholarship, University of Pretoria. 

PROF NORMAN OWEN-SMITH – Emeritus Research Professor, School of Animal, Plant & Environmental Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand. 

PROF KENNETH OZOEMENA – Chief Research Scientist and Research Group Leader, Council for Scientific & Industrial Research, South Africa.

PROF DORRIT POSEL – Helen Suzman Chair and Distinguished Professor of Economics, University of the Witwatersrand.

PROF MAMADOU SANGO – Professor of Mathematics, University of Pretoria.

PROF RUTH SIMBAO – Professor in Art History & Visual Culture and SARChI Chair in Geopolitics and the Arts of Africa, Fine Art Department, Rhodes University.

PROF BERNARD SLIPPERS – Professor, Department of the Forestry & Agricultural Biotechnology Institute, University of Pretoria.

PROF CRAIN SOUDIEN – Chief Executive Officer at the Human Sciences Research Council.

PROF EDWARD STURROCK – Professor of Medical Biochemistry and Head of Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences, University of Cape Town.

PROF FIONA TREGENNA – SARChI Chair in Industrial Development and Professor in the Department of Economics & Econometrics, University of Johannesburg. 

PROF SEBASTIAAN (BASIE) VON SOLMS – Research Professor, Academy for Information Technology, University of Johannesburg.

PROF HARALD WINKLER – Professor and Director, Energy Research Centre, University of Cape Town.

PROF RACHEL WYNBERG – Chief Research Officer, Associate Professor and Deputy Director at University of Cape Town, Environmental Evaluation Unit and SARChI Chair in Environmental & Social Dimensions of the Bio-economy.


FacebookTwitterLinkedinRSS Feed