ASSAf News

This newly established award reflects the long-standing partnership between the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and TWAS. CAS President and former TWAS President Bai Chunli played a central role in creating the award, funded by the Chinese technology company Lenovo. Eligible candidates are scientists not older than 45 years of age who are living and working in a developing country. In 2020 the award will recognize a young scientist for achievements in the physical sciences, including physics and chemistry. The recipient will receive USD10,000.

The award, named after Professor Atta-ur-Rahman, a distinguished Member of the Academy, is being conferred since 2012. It is now sponsored by the the Searle Company Ltd. The recipient will receive USD 5,000. Eligible candidates are young chemists (not older than 40), national of a Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (STL) country. All fields of Chemistry are eligible. For a list of STL countries please visit:

 NOMINATIONS: Nominations for the above mentioned awards can only be submitted electronically through the on-line platform by clicking on the: “New Nomination” button, to start a new nomination; “Resume” button, i.e. to resume working on saved nominations.

For any enquiry on all these opportunities, please contact email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.