Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) elects Foreign Associate Members

Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) elects Honourary Foreign Associate Members

ASSAf recently elected three Foreign Associates to serve as Members. These Members are outstanding scientists/scholars, currently based in a foreign country, who were either born in South Africa, and/or have performed a significant part of their work here, and/or have contributed significantly to science and scholarship in the country, especially where this has been turned to public benefit. They are nominated by an ASSAf Council member.

The newly elected Foreign Associates are:

Prof James Gibson, Sidney W. Souers Professor of Government, Washington University, St. Louis, United States of America and Extraordinary Professor, Stellenbosch University

Prof Mahouton Norbert Hounkonnou, President of the Network of African Science Academies (NASAC), Full Professor of Mathematics and Physics at the University of Abomey-Calavi, Republic of Benin

Prof Lehana Thabane, Interim Chair: Department of Health Research, Evidence & Impact, McMaster University, Ontario, Canada


ASSAf currently has four Foreign Associates, the fourth being Prof Mohamed Hassan. Prof Hassan is the Past-President of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS) and NASAC and current Co-chair of the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP).