ASSAf President awarded 2020/21 Medal for Social Sciences & Humanities

ASSAf President awarded 2020/21 Medal for Social Sciences & Humanities

Prof Jonathan Jansen, President of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), received the 2020/21 Medal for Social Sciences & Humanities from the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) and Universities South Africa (USAf) on 18 March 2021.

The 2020/21 Medal is unique in that it celebrates the contributions of social scientists, researchers and academics to South Africa’s fight against COVID-19. South Africa’s efforts to mitigate the spread of the virus through, amongst others, behaviour and attitude change, will have been ineffective without the work of this cohort. The Medal is awarded on an annual basis to scholars who have made outstanding contributions through their research in the social sciences and humanities.

Other ASSAf Members nominated for the Award are:

  • Ashraf Kagee is Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychology, Stellenbosch University.
  • Leslie Swartz is Distinguished Professor at the Psychology Department at the University of Stellenbosch.
  • Mark Tomlinson is Professor in Department of Global Health, Stellenbosch University.
  • Christof Heyns is Professor of Human Rights Law and Director of the Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa at the University of Pretoria.
  • Thaddeus Metz is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Pretoria.
  • James Ogude is Director: Centre for the Advancement of Scholarship, University of Pretoria. 
  • Priscilla Reddy is the Deputy Executive Director, within the Population Health, Health Systems and Innovations (PHHSI) Research Programme at the HSRC.
  • Kate Alexander is Professor of Sociology and NRF SARChI Chair in Social Change at the University of Johannesburg. 

ASSAf congratulates all these Members and thank them for their contribution.