Young Scientists to attend 71st Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

The Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings has selected 11 young scientists from South Africa to participate at the 71st Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting dedicated to Chemistry from 26 June to 1 July 2022 in Lindau, Germany. The nominating partner, the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) in partnership with the Department of Science and Innovation (DSI) will host a pre-travel meeting in May 2022 for the selected young scientists to prepare them of what to expert in the Lindau meeting in Germany.

In Lindau’s quest to continuously strive to increase the quality and internationality of the candidates, their scientific review panel has selected 600 of the most qualified young scientists from more than 100 nationalities to participate in this year’s Lindau Meeting. The selected young scientists will experience and contribute to the unique atmosphere of the Lindau Meetings. About 35 Nobel Laureates are planning to attend the meeting and welcome the outstanding qualifications and the great diversity of nationalities of the applicants.

ASSAf, as the official partner of the Lindau Foundation, and with funding from the DSI, annually nominates young scientists to attend the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings which are designed as a forum for young scientists from all over the world to have in-depth exchanges with Nobel Laureates.

The Academy and the DSI would like to congratulate the 11 South African young scientists who have been selected to participate at the 71st Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting: Mr Alan Eaby (University of Stellenbosch); Dr Shepherd  Siangwata (University of Cape Town); Dr Alexandré Delport (University of KwaZulu-Natal);  Dr Nzondelelo Bingwa (University of Johannesburg); Mr Lindokuhle Ngema (University of the Witwatersrand); Dr Gauta Matlou (University of Johannesburg); Dr Gugu  Kubheka (University of Pretoria); Dr Penny Mathumba (Mintek/University of Fort Hare); Miss Pamela Moyo (University of Johannesburg); Dr Nqobile Xaba (Mapungubwe Institute for Strategic Reflection); and Dr Zamani Cele (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research).

At the planned send-off meeting, they will interact with alumni who attended the meetings in previous years to learn what to expect at the prestigious gathering. Senior officials from ASSAf and the DSI will also be in attendance to inform the young scientists with regards to administrative support that will be provided by the secretariat.

In Lindau, the young scientists will experience a six-day programme with numerous lectures and panel discussions. They will also have the opportunity to meet the biggest science names in physics when they are introduced to the Lindau Nobel Laureates.